Wednesday, January 20, 2010

UBOD New Authors Named

The National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) and the Ateneo Institute for Literary Arts and Practices (AILAP) have finalized the list of accepted new authors for the project entitled UBOD: The New Authors Series II. This creative endeavor had its first inception back in 2005, when the chapbooks of forty (40) new authors from different parts of the country were launched at the Cultural Center of the Philippines.

For this year, fourteen (14) authors from different regions were chosen to have their literary works published as chapbooks. These new authors are: Sherma Espino Benosa (Short story, Iluko), Aida Campos Tiama (Poetry, Iluko), Christoffer Mitch Cerda (Short Story, Tagalog), Mar Anthony Simon dela Cruz (Short Story, Tagalog), Marlon Hacla (Poetry, Tagalog), Francisco Arias Montesena (Poetry, Tagalog), Jerome Hipolito (Poetry, Bikol), Adrian V. Remodo (Poetry, Bikol), Jay Gallera Malaga (Poetry, Hiligaynon), JV Perez (Short Story, Hiligaynon), Leonilo Lopido (Poetry, Waray), Phil Harold Mercurio (Poetry, Waray), Janis Claire B. Salvacion (Poetry, Waray), and Noel P. Tuazon (Poetry, Binisaya-Sugbuanon).

The authors were selected by a prestigious pool of readers/editors/translators and themselves, accomplished writers, such as, Cles Rambaud, Eli Rueda Guieb III, Michael M. Coroza, Kristian S. Cordero, Timothy R. Montes, John Iremil Teodoro and Merlie M. Alunan. Dr. Soledad Reyes will be the general editor of the collection. Details on the launching of the chapbooks are to follow.

For inquiries, please contact the AILAP Director and UBOD Project Coordinator, Ms. Christine Bellen, at telephone number 426-6001 local 5320, or email